A little perspective

I thought this was an interesting email someone sent me. I strikes a bit close to home as it was just over a year ago that a friend of mine was killed in Iraq. He was instrumental in setting me on the path to priesthood.



Here is the contents of the email:



—– Interesting Thought for the day:



If you consider that there have been an average of
160,000 troops in the Iraq Theater of operations during the last 22 months
and a total of 2112 deaths, that gives a firearm death rate of 60 per
100,000.




The rate in Washington D.C.(among others) is 80.6 per 100,000.
That means that you are about 25% more likely to be shot and killed in our Nation’s Capitol, which has some of the strictest gun control laws in the nation, than you are in Iraq.





Conclusion: We should immediately pull out of Washington D.C

4 Responses to “A little perspective”

  1. The Waffling Anglican Says:

    Although I don’t havee the statistics, I suspect that a very large number of the Iraq deaths were caused by explosions, thus making the gun-violence comparison even stronger.

  2. wjs Says:

    Found your blog today Father. I really enjoy your
    homilies. Where can I find the music that introduces
    your blog? Amazing, must of listened at least 50 times.

  3. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    Thank you both for your comments and welcome to the comments box. Waffling I would be delighted to hear an explanation of your handle/user name. Waffling is a term I haven’t heard since I left Texas A&M.

    wjs:
    I have been coming in a few short weeks for about two years. I had a bit more freetime in the seminary to mess around with flash than I do now. I think I will hire someone soon to craft the site for me if I can save up the dough. The music you are hearing is ubi caritas. It is a popular hymn that you can probably find in many hymnals. Ubi Caritas et amor deus ibi est. Where there is charity and love there is God is what it translates to.

    I think you can find it on many chant cd’s most likely listes as Ubi Caritas et amor. I hope that helps. I love it to and I tend to listen to the things I love over and over again which drives people around me a bit crazy at times. I hope you find a good copy. If I stumble across a cd that has one I will post the title for it so you can buy it. Keep checking back.

  4. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    wjs:
    Here is a link of a cd at amazon that has a version:

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00000420Y/103-0375883-4099038?v=glance&n=5174&s=classical&v=glance

Leave a Reply

