A recent change

I recently changed my physical residence to share a rectory with another priest. It is a much better situation for me at the moment and it is going to end up saving all 5 parishes involved some money. There used to be two cable, electric, water, fuel bills between the 5 parishes, now there is one.

So posting is a bit slow while I get the internet geared up at the new parish. Also I am in the process of moving the essentials down to it. It is nice to live with another priest again. I enjoy having someone to talk to at night, consult with, laugh with, and most of all pray with. I miss that from the seminary.

Bishop Carlson was very big on priestly fraternity and I agree with him, especially in a rural diocese. I go to confession every 2 weeks and it is a lot easier when I am not 40 miles from the nearest priest.

Children’s adoration continues to be amazing. I could almost feel guilty about it because I get so much out of it. There will be vocations that come out of it and some of the children report hearing God’s voice especially clearly during the holy hours.

On another note the Indult Mass was just granted for our diocese. I have been able to maintain a pretty neutral stance on this volatile issue overall. If we switched back to the Tridentine Mass I would have no problems at all with that. If the Pope removed the Indult I would have no problems with that. I am a follow the book kind of guy. I figure the Church knows best how to worship. That being said I was in favor of granting the indult in this case. Why? Because I, unlike many who quote the indult, have actually read the who thing. Many people are willing to use what parts they like to justify their position. I read it and the situation in our diocese is clearly what it was intended for. So…. I am glad that people will be reconciled with the Church because of it.

6 Responses to “A recent change”

  1. Chris Says:

    Interesting that the Indult is in your Diocese… Who will be celebrating the Mass? Will it be weekly?

  2. John Says:

    That’s wonderful Father. I’m glad to hear something good is in the works for you!

  3. padredana Says:

    Fr. Todd,

    Did the Bishop give the indult to a few individual priests or to every priest in the diocese? Normally, in my experience, it is given to individual priests rather than as a broad indult for everyone.

  4. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    Just to two priests.

  5. Paula Says:

    So how is your pooch adjusting to the new home? How’s the other priest adjusting to the pooch?!

    I’m so glad you have the companionship of another priest. Your respective flocks will be blest .. when Father is well, all can be well.

    Blessings!

  6. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    Molly is doing well and so is Padre. He grew up with dogs. She doesn’t like him much. She is afraid of most men but she will get used to him.

Leave a Reply

