The Bishop’s House

For the last 7.5 years the Bishop’s house in Sioux Falls has been like a home to me. It was 8 years ago next month that I first arrived, stayed in a room and served Mass in his Chapel. During my time in the seminary I had a room there and kept my things since I wasn’t from this diocese with a home close. During my time ordianed I have stayed there everytime I came to Sioux Falls for ordinations and spiritual direction. I had a little room in the basement where I could come in, go downstairs , and have a place ot lay my head. In short it has been a home to me and of course Bishop is like family and friend combined. The house has alwasy been open to priests. We celebrate Mass here. We sign up for meals if we are in town. My dog comes in and goes right down the steps to “our” room. Even she knows it. It just is a great place.

Today is the last night I will stay in that house until we have another Bishop. Of course who knows if the next Bishop will be as open to his priests staying there.

It is a bit sad. What has felt like my home for the last 8 years is closing down for at least a year. The Bishop leaves early on Tuesday for Saginaw. I will have to look for other accomodations when I come.

This morning I concelebrated my last Mass, in his chapel, with Bishop before he leaves. It didn’t really hit me until the end of Mass when he took the luna out of tabernacle and consumed the host. The finality of that moment hit me hard. It is good I always have a handkerchief in my alb pocket.

Next week will be the toughest though. I am going out to the installation in Saginaw. Getting on the plane Friday to go home will be tough.

But on another more humerous note…. (hate to end on a sad one)… I am a hero to the homeschooling kids because last night at Children’s adoration…. Fr. Todd made the fire truck come. As the incense billowed the smoke detectors in the office decided that wasn’t good. The firemen though thought it was their best smelling call in a long time.

3 Responses to “The Bishop’s House”

  1. Andy Says:

    Fr. Todd:

    I’ve been reading your blog since I learned your Bishop would become my Bishop. Thank you for sharing so much of your emotions, knowing he is so well loved releives my heart of some of the tension over the transition. I really look forward to meeting Bishop Carlson next week (I’m in school in Chicago) and begining my ministry under his watch next year when I am ordained.

    I’d also love to meet you next week. I’ll be one of the acolytes.

  2. Paula Says:

    Sweet Father, the Bishop will always be your family and friend. Guess you can identify with the disciples as they watched Christ ascend to heaven .. sadness .. but joy also in having understanding of the ‘bigger picture’. May this come to you soon for comfort and renewal of your ministry.

    Someone in Missouri is praying for you!

  3. Anne Says:

    Father- what lovely remarks. Bishop Carlson will be missed by so many people. I as a layperson will very much miss Bishop Carlson and I can only imagine how hard this must be for priests of this diocese, especially those closest to him. Now I think I have a better idea. May God continue blessing our diocese with a wonderful, new Bishop and many more priests like you.

Leave a Reply

