Attack – Counter attack

Children’s adoration was amazing as usual. We wound up for the summer. I am hoping to continue with the Home Schoolers in the fall. We will see how that works out. I am 300 miles from them but if we can iron out some details we should be able to do it.

I will be starting in one of my parishes this fall and rotating it every year to a new one. There just isn’t enough time to do one of everything for everyone. Hopefully though people will drive. I suspect they will after they experience it. The homeschoolers routinely drive 30 miles to bring kids. They are pretty serious about their children’s catetchetical education and that isn’t a burden for them once a month.

The Adoration was a spiritual high that I am sure did damage to the kingdom of darkness. I also think it work them up a bit because I have noticed some things that I think may be counterattacks. I am going to have to do some praying and some fasting and probably some more penance to counteract it.

Please pray for me and especially if you have small children get them to pray.

Also if you have a devotion to the Sacred Heart please entrust me to the the Sacred Heart of our Lord. If you don’t might I suggest you consider the enthronement of the Sacred Heart? Great promises are made to families.

11 Responses to “Attack – Counter attack”

  1. Dianne Says:

    Dear Father Todd,
    I indeed do have a special devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. My priests and nuns have told me that I truly had a supernatural experience with the Sacred Heart nearly a year ago when I was at my computer. I wrote my story and if you want I can put it in on my computer in a file and send it to you. I am praying for you and hope to hear from you if you have the time. JMJ, Dianne

  2. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    Sounds great. Please email it to toddreit@juno.com

    Thanks Dman talk to you later tonight.

  3. Dman Says:

    Happy Birthday, Fr. Todd

    🙂

    Dman

  4. Peter Says:

    Father,

    I am consecrated to the Most Sacred Heart. I will certainly remember you in my prayers.

    God bless!

  5. Ed Deluzain Says:

    As a professional educator, I think you’re making a big mistake encouraging home schooling. Kids need the socialization of school, public or Catholic. Not only that but teachers are professionals. How many of those parents have educational expertise?

  6. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    No, they were full. I am on the list for next year.

  7. Fred Deutsch Says:

    Oh, too bad. You must have been slow at the draw! From what I’ve seen so far, it should be exciting stuff. My two olderst daughters (both Steubenville students) are on the team. We’ve already begun to pray for the conversion of young souls they will encounter ….

    Fred Deutsch
    Watertown

  8. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    New to pastoring and didn’t know if I could get the cash this year. I will have it next year. Hope your daughters make it next year.

  9. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    Mr. Deluzain,
    I am familiar with the arguments of the NEA and the teachers associution but I don’t think they have any real merit based on what I have experienced.

    The children have plenty of socialization. Furthermore they socialize with children who are raised with the same CAtholic values of them. Sadly that isn’t the case in public school and many catholic Schools. Socialization with bad influences doesn’t have merit. Homeschooling parents can protect against this.

    I think the parents have plenty of expertise, they have good curriculum, and they have a gift for God present in their vocation as parents that non parental teachers don’t have. A degree doesn’t guarantee ability, motivation or expertise. It means you can jump through hoops and get a piece of paper for it.

    The ultimate proof is in the results. The Homeschoolers I work with far surpass the abilities of children of the same age I have seen that attend public or Catholic Schools. Most can read by 4 and are far ahead of their grade level in standardized tests. Even more important you can tell by speaking with them that they are well educated and capable, on average, of great reasoning ability than their peers.

    I am not knocking Public School education or Private Schooling. I am defending homeschooling against myths that are perpetuated by people who through out cliche’s rather than investigate the merits of homeschooling. Many are threatened emotionally, psychologically or worry about losing dollars. These are not arguments based on the facts, nor are they reasonable evidence to discount the merits of homeschooling in which many do.

    I encourage you to make a trip out to a Children’s adoration sometime to see for yourself.

  10. Fred Deutsch Says:

    Off the topic, but wondering if you signed up for Totus Tuis this year? From what I hear, it should be really awesome.

    Fred Deutsch
    Watertown, SD

  11. Nicole Says:

    prayers of course…

Leave a Reply

