Today it Begins

Lent and The Passion of The Christ that is.

Lent
I am looking forward to a spiritually productive lent. HOpefully I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew. It is my first Lent as a priest and I am having to run everything on top of it. I just hope I don’t forget my ashes at one of the parishes. That would be quite the start.

The Passion of the Christ.
Lots of controversy here. I think mainly the devil is screeching because he knows this movie is going to change lives. I wish I was in a better spot to take the youth of my parishes but I don’t know if it will work out. The schedule fills up in rural parishes with all the confessions at surrounding Church’s.

The constant complaining about anti-semitism is going to backfire. If anything causes anti-semitism it will probably be the complaining about it where it doesn’t exist. The only ones that will walk into this film and come out of it thinking it was anti-semitic are those who have an agenda, want attention, or are trying to appear intellectual and open minded in their concern to protect everyone because they are so enlightened.
Too many good people have seen it and loved it and didn’t see a trace of anything that lays the blame at the Jews as a whole. It should be interesting to see.

Needless to say I am taking my purple stole in my pocket and will probably have my priest friend bring his as well. I know the movie will make people want to go to confession and I want to be ready if they come up. I get stopped in airports and parking lots occasionally so I wouldn’t be surprised if it happened in a movie theatre.

Have a spiritually fruitful day.

Leave a Reply

