Death by Details

Boy can your life be consumed by details if you aren’t careful. I have to take longer lunches in order to get work done it seems. It is the only place I can go without the phone ringing or someone coming in.

All those things are important but you need to get some uninterupted time in order to read the important things like the new GIRM or the new Diocesen Policy on Sexual Misconduct.

I am finally down to about 5 files for Marriage though. That is a relief. It is hard to do weddings for couples you haven’t prepared and have only met once. It might be hard the other way as well but I will have to find that out later.

Our Adult Education seems to be shaping up pretty well. That looks exciting. We have above average participation here and we have a very active men’s group and knights.

I only have 11 baptisms this weekend. It was going to be a St. Michaels record but since they are spread out over 3 times it isn’t 11 at one time. I have 8 at one time. Thus I will have to wait to break that one.

This should bring me to over 20 babies baptized. That is pretty awesome.

The homeschooling picnic on Sunday was awesome. What a fun bunch even though I only had 1/2 hour. I am hoping to gear up and get more active with them as Weddings settle down.

Back to work.

9 Responses to “Death by Details”

  1. The Barrister Says:

    If ya keep it up with all them thar weddins, ah suspect y’all’ll be breakin’ that baptizin’ record in a few years.

  2. John Says:

    Father, I’ve got to say that is a beautiful cope. What a find! We don’t get to see gorgeous vestments like that much any more. Like our temples of worship the vestments have fallen victim to modernization. I for one believe with all my heart that folks have lost touch with the fact that splendid Churchs, altars, vessels, and vestments were taken very seriously. Why would we offer anything less than the best we can muster to our God?

  3. Chris Says:

    Be careful with that new G.I.R.M., Father. Some liberal whackos in high places are using it as a license for institutionalizing liturgical lunacy. Please don’t insist your parishoners hug at the Sign of Peace or raise their clasped hands up high during “The Lord’s Prayer”. Cleveland’s diocese used the G.I.R.M. to weasel in such liberal touchy-feeliness, and it is not going over well around Cleveland or around St. Blog’s.

  4. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    NO worries from me on any kind of hugging or hand holding. I actually think that is a violence against the people. Also I am reading it to find out what it doesn’t say.

  5. Eric C. Bales Says:

    Bravo!

    I wish everyone would read the GIRM, it would spare s a lot of pain and agony. I have my copy at the house I need to dive into…I had just read the previous GIRM a year or so ago.

    Of course, it’s tedious reading but worth the labor. It opened my eyes to the erroneous explanations I had been receiving as to the justification of such liturgical lunacy that Chris spoke of.

  6. Mickie Sweeney Says:

    Christian is an ‘action’ word … Hugs? Raising your hands in prayer? Sounds like a ‘celebration’ to me. Before the Holy Spirit moved in me to recognize Jesus in my heart, I only ‘attended’ mass — handshaking at the sign of peace was merely a way to see who was sitting around me. When we come together as Christians to celebrate the mass, to praise our God, to adore Jesus and the Eucharist, we celebrate! Can a priest or a church ‘force’ its people to hug and raise their hands? Absolutely not. Can the Holy Spirit compel us to praise and worship our God by reaching up to him and sharing our joy with our families and friends gathered with us? Absolutely! The strength we gather by these actions and our commitment as a community to recognize Jesus in each of us gathered together feeds us and makes us strong Christians, so that we can ‘go in peace to love and serve the Lord.’ I don’t know what a GIRM is, but I have felt the power of the Holy Spirit in God’s House and the joy of reaching up to him in song and prayer. 🙂
    Peace~

  7. Susan Maria Frances Says:

    Peace to you, also, Mickey. I remember from your last comment a couples of weeks ago how much you love the Holy Eucharist. Let us praise the Lord . . . and give Him thanks! Susan

  8. Susan Maria Frances Says:

    Dear Mickie Sweeney,

    Please forgive me, Mickie. I meant to write “Mickie.”
    May God bless you always.

    Susan

  9. Eric C. Bales Says:

    The GIRM is the General Instruction of the Roman Missal. It’s the section in the front of every ‘sacramentary’ aka Roman Missal that dictates the norms to be used in celebrating the Mass under any number of circumstances. It esentially establishes the do’s and do not’s of the Mass. It is conveniently ignored all too often.

Leave a Reply

