In Honor of the Blessed Sacrament

I just bought a cope for the Worship of the Eucharistic mystery. I sure hopes it turns out as good as it looks. Now I need to figure out how I am going to pay for it. The wonder’s of Credit Cards.

The parish didn’t have one and I am not sure one was in the future so I guess this will be a good temporary solution.

You can see it HERE

9 Responses to “In Honor of the Blessed Sacrament”

  1. Father James A. Curran Says:

    Dear Fr. Todd, I would very willingly send you money to help to defray the cost of the Cope. What you intend to do by promoting Eucharistic Adoration is stupendous. May your tribe increase! God love you, Fr. Todd! Father James A. Curran

    P.S. Although you are very active as Parochial Vicar, what with your deep love for the Most Blessed Sacrament perhaps one day–only God knows when–you will write a commentary on the Holy Father’s new Encyclical on the Most Holy Eucharist. What a possibility! (If not a full commentary, then a two page summary. Your readers would be delighted.)

  2. Eric C. Bales Says:

    What a beautiful cope! Fr. Jerry Vincke, of the Diocese of Lansing, received a similar one (though not as ornate) from his bishop. A question: what is the significance of the pelican? I’ve seen it in a few different depictions.

  3. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    Fr. Curran,
    Thanks for the offer but I am sure I can with a little reorganizing of priorities I can get it done. I just hope I can convince the Parish to buy one as well and not rely just on mine. I think every parish should have one, and a nice one at that.

    Eric,
    The Pelican will feed its children with its own flesh as Christ feeds his children with his. You can see it if you look at the big picture of the one with the Pelican.

  4. Matthew Larlick Says:

    Father

    The cope is very beautiful. However why do most priests wear polyester tableclothes?

    MRL

  5. Father Todd Reitmeyer Says:

    Some I am sure are what was given to them. Vestments can be pretty price. Close to 800 – 1000 a piece for Chausables that are pretty nice.

    A cope in this style new would have been 850 or more.

  6. Eric C. Bales Says:

    A web site to check out for NICE furnishings and vestments is:

    http://www.usedchurchitems.com

    My wife and I went with Fr. Jerry to MacDonald, Pennsylvania to look at the items first hand. The selection was amazing as was the quality.

    If you’re looking for something in particular in the future, just email the fellow and he will post photos of what he has to match. He spends a couple of months a year going through Europe collecting these things and bringing them back.

  7. Peter J. M. Farley Says:

    Fr. Todd, What a great Cope! I am happy for you, but I think even more so for your parishioners. Although it is hard to imagine why a Catholic Parish of Saint Michael’s size did not have a Cope, I guess that we must remain thankful that now is the time! Joy and Hope to you, Fr. Todd!Peter J. M. Farley

  8. The Barrister Says:

    You’ll be better dressed than Elvis!

    Seriously, what a wonderful cope. May God bless you in your ministry!

  9. Hugh Says:

    “All for the Glory of God”

    Good morning, Father Reitmeyer, and Happy Feast of Saint Monica. What a great example she is for us. I hope that you are well, working hard in the Vineyard of the Lord. I gladly welcome this circumstance to greet you lovingly and joyfully in Our Risen Lord Jesus. Hugh

Leave a Reply

