Amazing Grace

Each new day brings more and more humbling experiences as you see God working through you as a priest. I am amazed and humbled by the experience. I finished my first funeral today and it was about as beautiful of an experience as one could hope for.

The family was amazing and full of love and people of faith. The man who died sounded like quite a character and I was able to see him, annoint him and give him the apostolic pardon just a few hours before he died.

It really was an inspiration to see families that strong and with that much love. I couldn’t have asked for a better first experience.

3 Responses to “Amazing Grace”

  1. Shawn Wilkins Says:

    Fr. Todd you are an inspiration to me. I will be in the seminary in the fall and you blog just makes me more excited to begin this journey.

    I hope that one day I may be able to experience being in service of God’s people in the office of the preisthood.

    Thank you for your frequent messages of hope

    God Bless
    Shawn

  2. Josh Says:

    Fr. Todd,

    It certainly sounds like you are enjoying – both spiritually and emotionally – your early days as a priest.

    Thanks for this weblog. I am currenly in my own discernment process, and enjoy hearing what a young man has to say about the priesthood.

  3. Eric C. Bales Says:

    Fr. Todd,

    It is inspiring to all of us when the immediate family of the faithful departed are such strong witnesses of faith.

    This past summer was one such occasion when Zack Barcevac died. The strength of his wife and his parents were phenomenal. It was only a year or so before that his sister died from similar complications.

    The homily at the funeral Mass really impacted me. In it was described Zack’s final hour with parents and wife and pastor. They were praying and singing a particular hymn at his bed side as he passed from this life to the next.

    In those days prior Zack, though largely unable to speak, communicated through a series of hand signs he and his wife had previously worked out. He often called on those present in his room, with hand sign, to stop talking and start praying.

    When I called him a week prior, and asked him how he was doing. He said, “I’m very richly blessed. I have many friends and family and the Catholic faith. What more could I need?” He said it with the resolve of a man who knew he was going to die.

    I pray we all can be wtinesses like this in our hour.

Leave a Reply

